Kitchen Envy

Do you remember that episode of “Sex and the City” when Carrie’s Manolos get stolen at a friend’s baby shower? Her friend refused to replace them, and Carrie was extremely pissed. Then she sat down and figured up how much money she had spent on this friend over the years — wedding showers, flying to her wedding, baby gifts, etc. So, what did Carrie do? She marched over to the Manolo store and registered for a pair identical to the one that had been stolen, then sent her friend a “single announcement.” And her friend, realizing what a bia she had been, bought Carrie the shoes.

Carrie’s point in this episode is that in our couple-centric society, we treat weddings as the ultimate (and pretty much only) reason for a woman to get all of the swag she could ever wag her tongue at. In American, it’s as if a woman’s cooking inclinations can only begin once she’s in the role of “Wife,” and any claims to it prior to marriage are just hollow, meaningless, the wistful wishful thinking of spinsters and bachelor girls who are pining over the days of “what if.”

BULLSHIT. A couple months ago I made a list of all the kitchen gear I’d like to own, and today I am adding those items to my personal Amazon Wish List. I don’t have to be married to want a Le Creuset grill pan or a KitchenAid Stand Mixer.

KitchenAid Stand Mixer

And speaking of the stand mixer… my grandmother has one. If you’ve known me at all since the 5th grade, you know that I harbor a not-so-secret lust for Mugga’s KitchenAid stand mixer. I have been seriously coveting HER mixer since I was about 10.  I’m sure it’s not polite to speak so bluntly about coveting what isn’t mine, but dear sweet Baby Jesus in heaven, I want that thing. Getting my own at any point seems like a sin against that mixer, because I have wanted it for so long. But I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’ll just need to get my own. So, it’s going on my Amazon Wish List, bitches.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kitchen Envy

  1. Mama

    Mixer envy. Hmmmm. Is bigger better? Is it an end or a means to an end? May end up with a bigger end if you are not careful how you wield its power! Just thinkin’

  2. Mama

    Your dream mixer from your mugga came this week!

Leave a Reply

