Easter fixins

Hey y’all!  I was trying to think of a fun and yummy way to share Easter at home with my family.  I knew I wanted to bake something fabulous and delicious, and initially thought I would go with something lemon-y.  How much more “Spring” can you get??  But I couldn’t really find anything that wasn’t haute cuisine.  And if you know my family, you know the closest thing to “haute” we get is hot dogs!  But Giada (more about the borderline-unhealthy fascination later) was on the TODAY show this morning, and shared this recipe.

Giada's Mascarpone Cupcakes with Strawberry Glaze

Giada's Mascarpone Cupcakes with Strawberry Glaze

Mascarpone Mini-Cupcakes with Strawberry Glaze

Makes 48 mini muffins

Make these for your little girl’s next tea party; they are pretty and so easy to make.

INGREDIENTS

8 ounces mascarpone cheese, softened
2 egg whites
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 box white cake mix
1/3 cup frozen strawberries, thawed and drained
2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line 4 mini muffin tins (a total of 48 mini muffin molds) with paper liners.

In a large bowl combine the mascarpone cheese, egg whites and vegetable oil.

Using a hand mixer, beat the ingredients until combined and creamy. Add the cake mix and 1 cup of water and mix until smooth, about 3 minutes. Fill the muffin liners to just below the rim and bake until puffed and golden, about 18 to 20 minutes. Remove from the oven, let cool slightly in the tins, then transfer the cupcakes to a wire rack to cool completely.

Meanwhile, puree the strawberries in a blender or small food processor. Sift the confectioners’ sugar and place in a medium bowl. Pour in the strawberry puree and whisk until smooth. Dip the tops of the cooled cupcakes into the strawberry glaze. Let the cupcakes sit for a few minutes for the glaze to firm up, then serve.

Don’t they look and sound delicious? (and easy!)

My family love, love, LOVES strawberry shortcake (me, not so much).  This is looks like an easy, delicious way for me to incorporate a typical spring dessert’s flavors into a format that my whole family can enjoy!  I’m thinking that I may do regular-size cupcakes, though, since I only have 1 twelve-muffin mini pan.  Or I can do like I did for H the other day and make some regular and some mini.  That way you can choose a bite or a treat!

Two upsides to this recipe?  Cheese and strawberries = dairy/calcium and fruit/fiber!  Mom and I are making a conscious effort to include more dairy (and therefore calcium) in our diets.  We ladies need to take care of our bones!

UPDATE:

Apparently it is impossible to find mascarpone cheese in Tuscaloosa.  I swear I’ve bought it before!  But resourceful modern girl that I am, I’ve Googled it and come up with several suggestions for substitutions.  I think I’m going to go with the suggestion found in this pheasant recipe from about.com:

A Note about Mascaprone: It’s a delicate, very fresh creamy cheese made in Lombardia. One possible substitute, should it not be available where you live, would be cream cheese softened to easy spreadability by beating several tablespoons of heavy cream into it.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Easter fixins

  1. Cheryl

    Sounds good. :)

Leave a Reply

